SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By reklipz
Hey everyone, I've come to ask a few questions, and hopefully gain some insight to this whole wireless business.

First off, as the title says, I'm looking to create some sort of keyless entry system for my car. As I've never done any wireless before, I thought it a good idea to ask a few question before I started.

Secondly, after looking at a few modules, I've decided that either the simple RF Link modules, or the Long Range Modem modules will work fine.

My questions:
  1. Was I correct in the module choice?
    I'm fairly certain that the simple RF Link is the correct choice.
  2. Is there any benefit of xxx frequency over xxx frequency, and ultimately, why?
    Yep, this is about the only question I've left. Amazing what wonders the search feature can do :D.
  3. What sort of data rates will I be needing, and how do I go about calculating this (this would have to include all of the data that needs to be sent for the protocol and the DC balancing stuff and whatever else I still need to learn)?
    Not so much an issue, I'll just be sure to go with the 4800bps, I think they're the same price too.
  4. What is DC balancing, and what are some other things that I may need to consider in order to get the link working?
    After some reading, I think I've got this one covered. http://www.piclist.com/techref/microchi ... ansync.htm and http://www.ottawarobotics.org/articles/rf/rf.html were very helpful.
  5. How do I go about corrupt data and such (I believe that the Long Range Modem modules eliminate the last two questions, no?)?
    Those two articles pretty much covered this, and I doubt I'll need to implement CRC or anything that cumbersome as I can always use my actual keys to open the door if need be.
  6. Do I need to worry about securing the link at all, or is the fact that it will be a custom design be enough, and if not, any suggestions?