SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By yhsis
Hi, I'd like to know if it's possible to use BlueSMiRF to communicate with
Bluetooth cellphones.
How can I get a cellphone to send data to BlueSMiRF on incoming call signal?
I'm working on a school project and I'm a newbie at this.
I worked with Arduino boards before and I'm hoping to connect BlueSMiRF to
my Arduino board so that when it receives some data, the board will activate
a vibration as output much like a bluetooth headset.
I found tutorials on integrating BlueSMiRF with Arduino but I couldn't find
anything on getting bluetooth cellphone to send data to BlueSMiRF on
incoming call.
Any specific help would be SO appreciated!
Thank you.
By alnguyen
I've been trying to get my new cell (Sony Ericsson w810i Cingular Provider) to talk to hyperterminal for about a week now.

First, I went to the phone manufacturer's website and got a software dev kit. They will probably have one based on the Java Wireless Toolkit if your phone can run Java games. Using this toolkit you will be able to create midlets (phone java apps).

If you're phone supports the Bluetooth API (JSR 82) then you will be able to create midlets that can perform bluetooth device discovery, connect, and send data to other bluetooth devices. You'd probably use the serial port profile of the BlueRadio stack to do the talkin.

I found a good website that explains all that pretty well.

http://www.benhui.net/modules.php?name=Bluetooth