SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

For the discussion of Arduino related topics.
By djmadison121
I am a novice and not an electrical engineer so it is ok to make fun of me. Can someone tell me if what I am planning for a pull up resistor is correct or utterly stupid. Everything I'm doing is on a breadboard.

I have a Polulu high power motor driver (5V logic required) that I have hooked up to an Arduino Nano. Initial tests are working great and the motor runs nice.

Expanding on my success, I want to integrate the Fault Pin from the motor driver into my sketch. The doc on the fault pin states I need to pull it high via a pull up resistor. If the fault pin is driven low by the driver, then a fault occurs and my thought is I write some code to disable the dirver (it has a sleep pin).

I read on this site and many others the basics of a pull up resistor and it makes sense. Trying to apply that to my situation, here is what I think I should do:

5V power (from primary power source, not arduino) >> connected to 10k ohm resistor >> connected to motor driver Fault Pin and also connected to a digital pin on the Arduino (set for input so I can read it)

I feel like hooking up power, even via a 10k resistor, directly to an Arduino digital input pin seems like a bad idea. But at the same time, I'm not sure how to read the fault pin without hooking it up. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
By Valen
Can you be more specific which one that driver is?

https://www.pololu.com/category/82/polo ... or-drivers