SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By n0f8r
So I've been tearing my hair out trying to get logic level converters to work with my ESP32 thing, I've tried the sparkfun bi-directional and most recently 8-channel bidirectional breakout modules based on the TI TXS0108E.

Being an electronics noob, I've made a few pratfalls along the way - like not realising that the sparkfun converter has pin levels default to high - anyway - after a whole week of banging my head bloody, it looks like my issue is Pin 12 on the sparkfun board.

If I connect pin 12 to a logic level converter channel - the ESP32 goes haywire and wont boot, it's only just now that I thought to check using different pins on the sparkfun ESP32 board - and apart from pin 12, all the other pins seem to work ok - at a very basic level at least; the board boots and I can check the logic level conversion with a multimeter and a simple loop that swaps low and high every ten seconds.

Looking at the beautiful pinout diagram Sparkfun provides, I obviously avoided pins 39,38,37,36,35, and 34 - but I just assumed I could use Pin 12 as an output. Is that wrong? is there something special about "HSPI_Q" that disqualifies it from being used as output?

thanks,
Kevin.
By rmetzner49
I, too have found that if I attempt to use PIN 12 things get weird. The symptom is, instead of running the Arduino Code, it reverts to the Command Interpreter.

I have been trying to get this THING to talk to a DS1390 in the SPI mode with little success. Also I have found out that I CANNOT use the SS pin 2 as a Chip Select for my Display. If I do, it refuses to upload sketches. If I use any other pin, it's fine.