SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By Nanonovice
Hi, I'm new hear and would appreciate some advice.
My aim is to build a swarm of robots for a college project (I'm a mature student).
I will use Arduino because they are available. I require some information regarding sensor selection.

I require 2 sensors:
one to measure local light levels (I'm thinking LDR)
one for object detection/avoidance (I'm thinking IR)

I need to be able to distinguish between the other robots (I will have more than 10 robots) and the walls of my test/experimental arena which will likely be cardboard or wood, I can paint/cover them to help with detection if necessary.

My concern is that multiple robots moving around in the arena, each emitting an IR signal will cause problems. Each robot will be unable to distinguish between the signal they heave sent, and the signal other robots have sent.

I have looked at some of the options available such as the Sharp GP2D120 and Panasonic PNA4601M. Cost will be a factor but I need to ensure that I can achieve a reasonable level of reliability.

Is it possible to modulate the frequencies of these or other sensors to give each robot its own distinct signature? Is there a filtering solution I can use? My aim is to build 2 or 3 robots, work out the issues and then scale up. Any advice on the options available would be great. I have included a link to a video of the system I am basing my project on so you can get a sense of what it is I am trying to do.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOEP603VRdE

Thanks in advance for any replies.
By Valen