SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

By Bartowskio
Hello,
Everyone in here! I am a sophomore.
I want to build a mobile charger that is battery operated and found this diagram. At first glance, this diagram looks kinda simple and I thought that this won't work. I'm a newbie on making this kind of projects and its look like a simple one so I want to know how and why this diagram works. If this diagram really works I really need help in converting it
into a schematic diagram.
and also what is the diffference between the two in charging power?...
I'm an electronics hobbyist, not an EE. I am using the chip from http://www.kynix.com/Detail/601390/7805%201.5A.html I've done enough reading that I would feel comfortable building a regulated power supply using a linear regulator. It's not that hard, and well documented. (I'd rely heavily on research and build to somebody else's specs.) Linear regulators waste a lot of power however. They basically use a transistor in linear mode to control voltage, which makes it into a variable resistor. That burns all the excess voltage as heat. A buck converter is much more efficient, but a lot trickier.
My mobile's battery is a Li-Ion Battery, 1200mAh (4.44Wh), Nominal Voltage is 3.7 and Chargeable Voltage is 4.7V. Well I really want to build a portable mobile charger that is powered by DC so i could charge on emergency instances (power breakages, middle of the journey, etc.)

:dance: :dance:
My mobile device has an internal charger that (purportedly, at least) automatically maintains the battery if the phone is connected to an external 5V power source. So... if I use that first drawing (minus that resistor), and if I leave the battery (cell) in the phone & don't try to charge it directly from that circuit but instead connect that circuit to my phone& let the phone's internal charger handle all the details, then it'd probably work fine for me. The second circuit can't deliver enough current to do the job.