SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Open source ARM Debugger
By nicholasjackson
Hello

I have recently began working on a personal project with the cc26x family of devices from Texas Instruments, specifically the cc2650stk and cc2650 launch XL. I have limited knowledge on OpenOCD, I am unfortunately a slave to gui based proprietary debuggers. I have briefly used OpenOCD before with the EK-TM4C and the EL-LM4F family of devices, but with the configuration files already available for the board, little time was spent understanding the lower level concepts of OpenOCD.

I have searched quite extensively and have yet to find some information that satisfies my question. I saw that early last year the cc26xx cpus had been added as a target.

http://openocd.zylin.com/#/c/2232/

However I am a little confused. I have two debuggers, the XDS100v3 and the XDS110 both of which I believe are ICEPICK_C based debuggers. So I run the following command.
Code: Select all
openocd.exe -f target/cc26xx.cfg -c init
However this errors with the follow output:
Debug adapter does not support any transports? Check config file order.
The full debug is as follows;
Open On-Chip Debugger 0.9.0 (2015-05-19-12:06)
Licensed under GNU GPL v2
For bug reports, read
http://openocd.org/doc/doxygen/bugs.html
User : 13 2 command.c:546 command_print(): debug_level: 3
Debug: 14 2 options.c:98 add_default_dirs(): bindir=bin
Debug: 15 2 options.c:99 add_default_dirs(): pkgdatadir=
Debug: 16 2 options.c:100 add_default_dirs(): run_prefix=D:/Downloads/openocd-0.9.0/
Debug: 17 3 configuration.c:44 add_script_search_dir(): adding C:\Users\nicholas/.openocd
Debug: 18 3 configuration.c:44 add_script_search_dir(): adding C:\Users\nicholas\AppData\Roaming/OpenOCD
Debug: 19 3 configuration.c:44 add_script_search_dir(): adding D:/Downloads/openocd-0.9.0//site
Debug: 20 3 configuration.c:44 add_script_search_dir(): adding D:/Downloads/openocd-0.9.0//scripts