SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By JD27
Hello all,

Although I have some knowledge of the electrical field, I am very new to the world of electronics. I am hoping these forums may be able to provide me some assistance.

I have been using the WAV Trigger and have been very happy with its performance thus far.

However I am unsure as to whether I am misunderstanding the functionality of the "Next" and "Previous" trigger functions, or my WAV Trigger is not functioning correctly. To my understanding, I believe that triggering the "Next" function should play the next numbered track and continue to play successive tracks in a loop until otherwise told to do something different.

My WAV Trigger only plays the next or previous track when prompted and stops playing tracks upon the completion of the first track.

I am looking to have the WAV trigger cycle through the tracks by itself in a loop. Is there anyway I can achieve this through the Init file and triggers, or via serial control from an Arduino?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
By robertsonics
The trigger options for the WAV Trigger allow for a potentially bewildering array of behaviors - including the one you want, although you may need to update your firmware, depending on your specific requirements.

By default, the triggers are "Edge" type, meaning that they cause an action only on a transition. For the "Next" and "Previous" functions, this means that a transition is required to advance to subsequent tracks. You can change the trigger type to "Level", and as long as you hold the trigger active, the tracks will continue to play the way you want. You can cause the WAV Trigger to do this automatically by setting the trigger type to "Level" and checking "Invert" so that the trigger is active by default (they're pulled high with nothing connected to them.)