SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By bogwog
Hi everyone. Before I continue, let me just point out that I've never worked with motors before, and I'm not exactly the most informed guy out there when it comes to EE. Programming is my trade, so please excuse any obscenely stupid things I might say in relation to electronics :oops:

Anyways, a friend of mine was throwing an old JUGs pitching machine which he had for some reason and gave it to me since I said I could fix it. It has two giant 90v DC motors. These are the specs on the labels:
Model Number: SR3616-681-7
VOLTS: 90 DC
AMP: 3.0
HP: 1/4
RPM: 1900
DUTY: Spec
Field: PM
After some short Googling I found this forum post someone made with pictures that look exactly like my model, in case that's relevant.

I've tested the two motors and they both appear to work fine, however the circuit board whose job it is to regulate their speed doesn't. Connecting it results in only one of the two motors actually spinning, and it spins at extremely high speeds.

_________
What I'm trying to do is find out a way to regulate the speed on these things, because as it is the damn thing only pitches at 120+ mph(also those high speeds probably aren't too good for the motor(s)). Ideally, I'd be able to hook it up to an arduino or something and have fun programming it to do whatever I want. Although I'd be fine with using what it already has for now: two big potentiometer thingys.

Here is a pic of the front of the board, and one of the back. The two gold cylinder things are potentiometers meant to regulate the speed of each motor, and the thing in the middle is a simple on/off switch.