SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By Danny
Hi all,

I'm about to venture on my first Arduino project. I'm just a beginner, but I think I can figure most things out... Except what combination of kit could 'solve my problem':

I want multiple battery-powered Arduinos (clients with sensors) to communicate with 1 single computer (server) - using a wireless connection. The server is to give commands to each individual Arduino, and each Arduino in response will prove a small data package in return (e.g. max 100 bytes) containing the sensor data. The server must be able to identify and address each Arduino individually.

Note however: The Arduinos will be in VERY CLOSE proximity from each other; for example: 4 to 15 centimeters!
The computer/server will be located 'a few meters' away (2 to 15 meters maximum).

Wi-Fi was my first choice (easy to ID & address & program?), but I'm afraid the relative 'extreme close-proximity' would cause too much interference when e.g. I have 5 or perhaps 20 Arduinos [literally] stacked on-top of each other! Is this true?

RF Radio is another wireless option and seriously cheaper as well!! But (I believe) lacks any form of ID, and the noise issue doesn't give me much confidence either..

So, my question is: What wireless solution would be best? And could you suggest any components/links that could do the job.

Any help will be much appreciated!

Danny
PS. I've been studying and reading for months so I'm dying to get started :dance: but I can't figure out what will or could work for my application :roll:
By jremington
Close proximity is not an issue, but a large number of connections can lead to problems. Xbee radios can be set up for star connections like you describe.