SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By subni
Hi everyone, first of all thanks for helping, I've been reading and learning with this forum for a while, but this is the first time I ask on it (and I hope soon I can help people too).

I'm a software developer and hobbyist electronics, currently I'm working on a project that involves arduino and raspberry pi, it is just another greenhouse controller.

I'm trying to design a simple board that allows me to power the system with just one power entry point (12v wall adapter) the board is supposed offer 12v, 9v and 5v. I've designed a schematcis with two regulators and some extra components to do the work, I have been reading forums, googleing and reading datasheets for a while and I end up with the schematics below, but because of my lack in electronics knowledge I have some doubts I would like to share with you and try to fix :)

So... there we go:

I have some capacitors for filtering on the regulators, I extract that from the regulators datasheets, but I'm not sure if the caps fit well on the design, on the datasheets the "schematics" is just for one regulator and I have two so:

Is the placement and values of C1, C2, C3 and C4 right?

Should I place instead of C1 and C3 some filter at the input and remove those caps?

I'm using tantalum capacitor for C1,C2 and C3 because the datasheet says so, but I have been reading about tantalum vs electrolytic (aluminium foil) and the information I got is not very clear, some sites says it is better tantalum, some say not and I don't really understand the reasons.

What is better to use, tantalum or aluminium foil?

Let's talk about diodes now :)

I placed tree diodes on the circuit, D1 is a 3A protection diode, is it really necessary and well placed?