SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By Mach3Maelstrom
SparkFun, this one's for you! :D

Hi all, I'm a hobbyist-turned-product-developer. I'm a hobbyist by nature (lots of prototyping & troubleshooting experience, not as much in proper organized documentation), so I'd like to know if anyone has an organized way of collecting information when they iterate a product. I've read SparkFun's Prototyping Tricks and Tips PDF for some tips already, but would like to see a template/system that implements this as I learn better from seeing specific examples.

Ideally, I'd like some sort of Word or Excel template to keep up with design changes implemented, problems found during troubleshooting, schematics, layout, firmware, IOM information, my contact information, and any other important things you may think I'm leaving out. I also could use some advice on some good practices on maintaining such documentation.

Thanks!
By fll-freak
For many projects we create a shared area on a file server to act as a repository of data. It is first divided by function (SW, electronics, mechanical, management, Failure investigations, ...). Inside each function the group creates logical directories for those tasks. All pertinent data is stored here. This might include data sheets, critical emails from sub contractors, specifications from customers, design review presentations, action item lists from reviews, etc. It does not include code or final documents. These are stored in a version control system like CVS, SVS, or GIT.