PICkit 2 or 3

Find out how to setup your programmer's software and how to solve many common problems.

Moderator: phalanx

PICkit 2 or 3

Postby wolffman » Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:58 pm

Which one do you guys think i should get for my first PIC programmer i am just getting started with microcontrollers. Should i get the 2 or the 3 just wondering?
wolffman

Postby leon_heller » Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:50 pm

I get the impression from the Microchip forum that the PK3 seems to be a bit more troublesome than the PK2. They are software problems so they are being fixed. I mostly use an ICD 2, but the PK2 I have works fine with everything I've used it with.

Leon
Leon Heller
G1HSM
leon_heller

Postby riden » Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:18 am

leon_heller wrote:I get the impression from the Microchip forum that the PK3 seems to be a bit more troublesome than the PK2.
I had heard similar things as well.

For $35, go with the PicKit 2. I love it and it handles all the chips that I typically use. It is a mature product, works out of the box, and you won't be sorry. Later, as the PicKit 3 matures, you can always get one of those if it adds value.
Ralph
riden

Postby saccade » Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:57 pm

Ditto the other comments on the PICkit 2. I just got mine ($35 + $10 adapter from Digikey) and I love it.

In particular, I wanted something to make it easier to program a bunch of chips without stopping to click a mouse and watch the computer screen for every chip. The PICkit 2 solves this perfectly: You can download your code into the PICkit 2, then just hook it up to each target PIC and press the button! They call this "Programmer-To-Go" mode, and they even show you how to hook it up to run on batteries.

Other cool things: It's open source (schematics, firmware and application source are all available from Microchip) and you can even set it up to work as a basic three channel logical analyzer or a USB - TTL serial adapter.

Great value for the $$.

http://www.saccade.com
saccade