SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Discussions on how to get your MSP JTAG programmer up and running.
By Gene Bauer
Newbie Here

Installed IAR Kickstart v4.41A from CD on XP machine.

Inserted eZ430 in USB.

Navigated the Wizard to C:\Program Files\IAR Systems\Embedded Workbench 4.0\430\drivers\TIUSBFET\WinXP. As per "Quick Start".

XP sez, "Cannot Install This Hardware" "The Hardware is not installed because the wizard cannot find the necessary software."

I found files in that folder.

Uninstalled IAR Kickstart.

Installed the downloaded v4.09A from ti.com

No joy.

Am I just not holding my mouth right?

Thanks in advance.

Gene
By markus_b
Gene,

I've got the same problem. I tried it with the dowloaded software, the software on the CD and with the drivers coming with the 'code composer' (also on the CD).

I just received my ez430 (odered just before christmas), we might have the same batch.

Markus
By markus_b
OldCow wrote:The current version is in slac050Q.zip
That's what I did download. Does not work !

Markus
By markus_b
I just got a mail back from TI support in Germany, they offer to replace the programmer and ask me to send it to their tech support for investigation.

I suggest you open a support call with TI too, here the URL.
http://www-k.ext.ti.com/sc/technical-su ... rt.asp?MCU

Markus
By dumarjo
Hi all,

I found the problem

TI have a problem with the descriptor on the usb. I have modified the inf file to respect this error from TI

here the inf file "umpusbXP.inf"

Change the line

%PID_F430.DeviceDesc%=TI3410.Uni,USB\VID_0451&PID_F430 ; <------------ MSP-FET430UIF

to

%PID_F430.DeviceDesc%=TI3410.Uni,USB\VID_0451&PID_3410 ; <------------ MSP-FET430UIF

And should work

Jonathan
By markus_b
Thanks Jonathan,

unfortunately I can not test anymore as I sent the unit back to TI last week and the replacement did not arrive yet.