SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Your source for all things Atmel.
By jandirks
I have to do a calculation which I do with the following source:

Code: Select all
int analogPin = 0;   // Pressure sensor connected to analog pin 0
long val = 0;   // variable to store the read value

void setup()
{
   Serial.begin(9600);	// opens serial port, sets data rate to 9600 bps
}

void loop()
{

val = analogRead(analogPin);   // read the input pin (getting value of around 840-860)

val = ( 1 - ( val/ 1013.25 ) ^ 0.19) ) / 22.558;

Serial.print("Value: ");
    Serial.println(val);

delay(1000);

}

This line gives an error:
The error is:
In function 'void loop()':
error: invalid operands of types 'double' and 'double' to binary 'operator^
I hope someone can help to solve this. I am totally new to the Arduino.

Thank you in advance!
By jasonharper
The XOR operation isn't really meaningful on floating-point numbers...

If what you actually intended with that caret was an exponentiation, that's done in C via the pow(x,y) math library function.
By stevech
check exponention operator - in C, it's usually a function, not an operator as in BASIC or other languages. Usually called pow().
POW - power function.

(ANSI Standard)
Usage:

#include <math.h>
z = pow( x, y );

Where:

double x, y, z;

Description:

"pow" returns "x" to the power "y". If "x" and "y" are both zero, or if "x" is non-positive and "y" is not an integer, "pow" return -HUGE_VAL and sets "errno" to EDOM. If the answer would cause an overflow, "pow" returns +HUGE_VAL.
See Also:

expl c lib errno
---------------------------------------------------------
Also - your floats are probably single precision (24 bit mantissa) for this microprocessor. Type single and double are probably defined to be the same.

---------------------------------------------------------

Also, you probably need to give
instead of