SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Your source for all things Atmel.
By tomrockhold
All,

I'm pretty new to this, and I'm trying to find code examples to get my Arduino and the Sparkfun RGB Matrix with Backpack up and doing something interesting.

My eventual goal is to have a single matrix scroll messages across. I have searched around and found lot's of YouTube videos with groovy things going on, but I can't seem to find the code. Even the example code from the sparkfun product page isn't really working for some reason. I get some bars, but not all the colors.

I'm not much of a programmer, more of a solder and communications protocol kinda' guy, so I need something to take apart and see how it works.

Any help with code example, wiring advice, or links to "a complete idiots guide to the RGB LED Matrix and Backpack from Sparkfun" would be greatly appreciated.
By mrnick1234567
Tom,

I have just bough some of these and am waiting for them to arrive. I found this site with test code to produce an image on the RGB Matrix w/backpack.

http://tokage.cafe24.com/ww/

(Ignore the bits in Japanese at the top)

Hope this helps... Nick
By camille
You can find some sample code here:

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/RGBBackpack

Note that you can't easily change the SPI pins to whatever set on the Arduino. SPI is only working on this set of pins from what I know.

#define CHIPSELECT 10//ss - CS on Backpack
#define SPICLOCK 13//sck - SCK on Backpack
#define DATAOUT 11//MOSI - DI on Backpack
#define DATAIN 12//MISO - DO on Backpack

I hope this helps.

/Camille
By mrnick1234567
If it's any help my 4 displays work fine using the pins Camille suggests. I have 4 CS pins (7-10).

Nick
By gonzillaaa
I just got two of these and I'm trying to hook them up but I'm a little confused by the labels on the backpack.

The labels on the backpack and my connections on an Arduino diecimilanove are: (from top to bottom)

GND -> GND
MOSI -> 11
CS -> 10
SCLK -> 13