SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Discussions on the software and hardware for Atmel's STK standard.
By sureshparanjape
I am a total novice to micro controllers and learning by searching on internet.I have an arduino board with atmega328 on board. As a first trial, I have written and verified the sketch for digital clock. The next step is to make a stand alone by creating a board with necessary hardware, including a micro controller. I would imagine that one could use a less sophisticated/advanced micro controller than atmega328 for example atmega8 or so. Can empty PIC controller be boot loaded to program by arduino? May be my last question show how naive I am.!
sureshparanjape
By n1ist
For a one-of project, I would just use the same processor (ATMega328). If cost becomes an issue and you are making thousands, the ATMega x8 family (48, 88, 168, and 328) are all drop-in compatible except for memory size so you could use a smaller one.

As for whether a PIC running a bootloader can be programmed by an Arduino - it likely could, but I don't see what you would get out of it. You would still need to get the PIC data from the PC to the Arduino, and then from there to the PIC. It is easier to go directly from the PC. In general, you don't mix processor families in one project. Sure, there are special cases where it makes sense, but they aren't too common.

/mike
By stevech
Re smaller/cheaper micro... what's the goal? I'd think that at this point you're focused on learning 100% of C then C++.
A good change might be to these small Arduino like micros, if you don't need "shields". The 3.1 version of these boards has A/D, D/A, and all the popular interfaces like SPI. And there are piggy-back boards in this tiny size for Ethernet (Wiz820 module), XBee (IEEE 802.15.4), and others. I think SFE sells some of the older versions, or used to.