SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Discussions on the software and hardware for Atmel's STK standard.
By vicviper789
I am new to programing and just got my max7456 on a break out board from spark fun. I want to eventually make a simple OSD for an FPV airplane but mostly learn how to program better. I am using a Duemilnove to control it.

I have read this entire thread:

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaB ... 20054359/0

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaB ... 1254778402

It gives me code and I make an attempt to hook it up. My screen just stays black like there is no signal. I assumed this part of the code tells me what to plugs to use.

DATAOUT 11//MOSI
DATAIN 12//MISO
SPICLOCK 13//sck
MAX7456SELECT 10//ss
VSYNC 2// INT0

I had Dout on 11, Din on 12, sck on 13, wasnt sure what ss was so I assumed CS on 10 and vsync on 2 (all digital side) Thats exactly how I had it. From reading further into the thread, I have to put a resistor on the RST pin and put 5v into it. Not sure if there are other things to do or not but I am pretty confused on how to hook it up. Any help would be appreciated
By vicviper789
I looked further into it and it looks like i need Hyper terminal to burn the data to the board. Where can I get hyper terminal? it looks like it cost $60 :?
By SFE-Robert
Hyperterminal comes with Windows!

Start > Programs > Accessories > Communications
By vicviper789
Not in windows 7, I was unable to find it if it was there. I did find it in my XP partition though

http://www.windowsreference.com/windows ... -in-vista/

I made some progress. I connected RST to 5+ and now the video is on the screen but I can not see any OSD functions.

I got the maxim eval software and when I have the arduino hooked up and serial monitor closed, it says:

Make certain:
1. The EVKit is connected to serial port
2. Make sure EVkit is powered (LED ON)
3. Another application is not using the com port
4. EVkit is not in demo mode