SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Discussions on the software and hardware for Atmel's STK standard.
By tfuruya
I am new to AVR microcontroller and I have problem with my first project: blinking an LED.
Problem: I can't get it to blink.

I recently bought ATmega328 with Sparkfun AVR Pocket Programmer and I'm not sure if it is my circuit or programmer or microcontroller that is wrong.
I stronly feel that the programmer is not working properly but I thought that asking here before sending an email to Sparkfun is a good idea.

OS: Microsoft Windows XP Proffesional Version 2002 Service Pack 3
Programmer: Pocket AVR Programmer (usbtiny from Sparkfun)
(installer for it is in the same page as in hyperlink above)
Program used: AVRDude
Microcontroller: ATMEGA328P-PU
File used: blink_1MHz.hex (from Sparkfun Tutorial)
(above zip also contains C code)

Most of the time after connecting the USB, the computer detects unkown hardware although I installed it.
When this happens, only the blue light in the programmer lights up.
I typed the following in command prompt after changing directory to where blink_1MHz.hex is saved:
Code: Select all
avrdude -c usbtiny -B 1 -p atmega328p -U flash:w:blink_1MHz.hex
The result is:
avrdude: Error: Could not find USBtiny device (0x1781/0xc9f)

Once in a while (after disconnecting and re-connecting the usb about 20-30 times), the Stat1-red-light in the programmer lights up.
When this happens, I type the above command again and get the same results.
However, sometimes, the Stat2-red-light blinks once and the result is:
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.
Once in about another 20-30 times of repeating the above when Stat1-red-light is lit, I get the following:
avrdude: error: usbtiny_transmit: usb_control_msg: sending control message faile
d, win error: A device attached to the system is not functioning.