Automotive electronic throttle control

Have you got the greatest 48 bit multiplier ever conceived? Prove it - post your code here.

Moderator: phalanx

Mhm

Automotive electronic throttle control

Post by Mhm » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:08 am

Could anyone help me with some code to control a drive-by-wire throttlebody.

It has a DC motor so I assume PWM would be used to control it.
It also has an potentiometer connected to the butterfly that can be used for feedback.

I'm new to programming, so would appreciate some help on this.

fll-freak
Support Volunteer

Re: Automotive electronic throttle control

Post by fll-freak » Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:22 am

You may find it tough to find someone. With the liability issues of writing software that could end up killing someone, I would not be keen to help. Just look at poor Toyota and it was 'proven' latter the sudden acceleration was not even real.

skimask
Support Volunteer

Post by skimask » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:33 am

DBW throttle body using PWM?
I don't think so...

Ya, I'll write some software for you...and put a nasty "bug" in there that'll activate itself in case I don't get paid.

Sounds like the beginnings of a movie...
I ignore "one post wonders".

Mhm

Post by Mhm » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:23 am

skimask wrote:DBW throttle body using PWM?
I don't think so...
If PWM is not used how is the DC motor controlled then?

It's definately got a DC motor, I have tested it!

When you apply DC power to the motor terminals on the TB the butterfly opens.

Mhm

Post by Mhm » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:33 am

fll-freak wrote:You may find it tough to find someone. With the liability issues of writing software that could end up killing someone, I would not be keen to help.
What I want to do is control the idling and eventually control the revs to the to match the gearbox speed when changing gears.