SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have a good idea for a new product for SFE or Olimex? Let us know!
By dav7
I honestly have no idea if something like this would be popular, practical or even possible, but since ideas never mentioned are worse than ideas that suck, I thought I'd get this concept out there anyway.

Note that this isn't a product - it's a concept. You can't buy one yet. But if you like the idea of owning something like this you could reply to this thread :)

Also, please be aware of the fact that I am an absolute noob when it comes to microcontrollers and such - the amount of knowledge I have on the subject could probably fill a 15-20 page pamphlet. That said, I think that what I want is still possible.

A year or so ago I got the idea for an extremely simple to program handheld computer-type thing, where instead of an OS, "killer application" and so on, you'd instead get full specs and demo code showing how the thing worked, a programming cable, and the words "do your worst".

Something like that, anyway.

I don't think for one second that this is a unique idea. It's probably been dreamed up thousands of times, and it already exists to some extent in the form of PDAs and more recently things like smartphones and MIDs - but these devices have operating systems, apps and actually do something specific, instead of not having any given task in particular. And "hackable" stuff already exists - the OpenMoko mobile phone has deliberately places tie points on its mainboard so you can poke it in various ways.

Instead, this thread asks the question "should a hobbyist device like what I describe exist?" Reply if you agree. :D