Replace Corded Power Drill trigger with digital Pot

A place to hang out and chat with other like minded tinkerers

Moderator: phalanx

Post Reply
drob63
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:32 am

Replace Corded Power Drill trigger with digital Pot

Post by drob63 » Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:41 am

Hello and Thanks for any help you all may have. I am a total beginner so forgive me if this question is totally crazy. I have a corded power drill that I would like to be able to control with my raspberry pi. As you know power drills have a trigger that I assume is some type of potentiometer. If it is a potentiometer I would like to replace it with a digital one. Is this possible? If so, what kind of potentiometer should I purchase. The drill is not cordless by the way.

Thanks!!!

skimask
Support Volunteer
Posts: 1244
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:11 am
Location: Minot, N.D.

Re: Replace Corded Power Drill trigger with digital Pot

Post by skimask » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:34 am

Use a servo arm to push on the trigger.
I ignore "one post wonders".

lyndon
Support Volunteer
Posts: 1629
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 6:37 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Replace Corded Power Drill trigger with digital Pot

Post by lyndon » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:34 am

drob63 wrote:Hello and Thanks for any help you all may have. I am a total beginner so forgive me if this question is totally crazy. I have a corded power drill that I would like to be able to control with my raspberry pi. As you know power drills have a trigger that I assume is some type of potentiometer. If it is a potentiometer I would like to replace it with a digital one. Is this possible? If so, what kind of potentiometer should I purchase. The drill is not cordless by the way.

Thanks!!!
Assume nothing!
Why assume? Why do you think we would know? You own the drill: open it up and find out then you can ask better questions.

n1ist
Support Volunteer
Posts: 1037
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:02 am

Re: Replace Corded Power Drill trigger with digital Pot

Post by n1ist » Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:30 am

Be careful; you are dealing with line voltage here. A mistake can be fatal.

A digital pot won't have the voltage, current range, or isolation that you need.

/mike

Post Reply