Options for Two Serial Ports on MicroView?

General MicroView Support area - You have questions, find your answers here.

Moderators: phalanx, Help@GeekAmmo, marcus@geekammo

Post Reply
Schema
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:33 am

Options for Two Serial Ports on MicroView?

Post by Schema » Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:27 am

I'm looking to use my MicroView as a data translator/sniffer between two serial devices, running at a low serial baud of 2400.

I had assumed it would be trivial to use the regular Hardware Serial on pins 0 and 1 and the common SoftwareSerial on two other pins, but according to this thread, SoftwareSerial and the hardware Serial actually conflict due to interrupts. So that's out.

AltSoftSerial uses pins 8 and 9, which aren't available on the MicroView.

sss.ino uses pins 3 and 4, and pin 4 isn't available on the MicroView.

Any other options or suggestions?

scotta
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:31 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Options for Two Serial Ports on MicroView?

Post by scotta » Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:54 am

I don't know what your hardware/cost/size requirements are, but you could consider adding an I2C to UART converter chip, such as the SC16IS740, SC16IS750 or MAX3107.

Schema
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:33 am

Re: Options for Two Serial Ports on MicroView?

Post by Schema » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:53 am

That's an intriguing idea! I'll look into it more. I was hoping to keep it all through-hole, and haven't found those in a through-hole version of those parts yet. I do have the space on the board.

scotta
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:31 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Options for Two Serial Ports on MicroView?

Post by scotta » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:27 pm

Schema wrote:I was hoping to keep it all through-hole, and haven't found those in a through-hole version of those parts yet. I do have the space on the board.
If you've got a fair bit of space, the SC16IS750 is commonly available on a breakout board with a crystal and support components, which could be mounted through-hole on your main board.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=SC1 ... mfe=search

Note that since the SC16IS750 is a maximum 3.3V part, you will probably also need level shifters on the I2C signals.

Post Reply