How to get ISE working on Win 10 w/ Mojo

HDL's and logic cells!

Moderator: phalanx

How to get ISE working on Win 10 w/ Mojo

Postby thebecwar » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:17 am

Xilinx has made it abundantly clear that they have no intention to support the Spartan 6 going forward. The toolchain that you have to install in order to make the Mojo IDE build your project is not supported. The 64 bit version of the toolchain doesn't work on Win 10 at all. (It may work for you. YMMV.)

To make it work, here's what I did:

  1. After downloading the Xilinx ISE installer and un-taring it (7-Zip is your friend) do not use the main installer. Go to the unpacked files, and in the bin\nt folder you'll find the 32-bit-only installer (xsetup.exe). Install using that.
  2. After the installer completes, and you've installed your license per the Mojo instructions, you need to make a fake 64 bit install, so the Mojo IDE can find the executables. To do that:
    • Copy C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\bin\nt to C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\bin\nt64
    • Copy C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\lib\nt to C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\lib\nt64
    • Copy C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\EDK\bin\nt to C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\EDK\bin\nt
    • Copy C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\EDK\lib\nt to C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\EDK\lib\nt
  3. Run the Mojo IDE and build your project. It will complain about the fact that Mojo isn't passing the -m32 flag to the command line, but it will build.

Good luck. Maybe if we're all lucky, we'll see some affordable Spartan 7 boards come out before Xilinx abandons those too.
~tB~
User avatar
thebecwar
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 8:48 am
Location: New Haven, CT

Re: How to get ISE working on Win 10 w/ Mojo

Postby thebecwar » Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:03 am

So update:

It worked on my laptop, didn't on my desktop. Back to the drawing board I guess.
~tB~
User avatar
thebecwar
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 8:48 am
Location: New Haven, CT


Return to FPGA's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest