SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By NateS
I'm researching for my first electronics product, which is to have my PC control the electric Somfy roller shades for my windows. I have 5 roller shades and each has a wall button which is also an RF receiver. I have an RF remote which sends out a signal to one or all wall buttons, telling them to go up, down, or stop. I expect sending the RF commands would be difficult, so I purchased an extra RF remote and I hope to have some device (an Arduino?) simulate button presses (there are 5: up, down, stop, next, previous).

I'm a programmer by trade. While I've dabbled with simple electronics long ago, I would greatly appreciate a bit of hand holding. :) I do have a DMM, so there's that!

While a physical solution is amusing, I think there is probably a better way. My first thought was to use electromagnetic relays. After some reading, I've come to think this is also not terribly elegant for such low voltage. I considered solid state relays, but found they only work with AC and don't work for low voltage. Next I came across optocouplers, and this seems like a very promising solution. I also read a bit about using transistors, but it seems best to keep the Arduino and remote circuits separate.

Are optocouplers the way to go? How would I wire them up?