SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By teoyongkia
Hi guys, I'm new in this industry and would like to seek advice on the following:

I have got a laboratory power supply (front panel and a motherboard connected by a Flexible Flat Cable, FFC). I was told that the serial communication between this two panels has a baud rate of 115200bps.

All the components powered off, isolators shorted, with continuity test checked on both ends. I have the contacts of the TX/RX for the front panel and motherboard wired out and connected each to db9 rs232 connected to one laptop each. (PC1 - front panel - (FFC connected) motherboard - PC2)

with null modem for full handshaking configuration on PC1-PC2, i'm able to reach a baudrate of 921600 (max for the hyperterminal), but with the implementation of the power supply in between i can only go up to 19200, which is too low a rate.

I've shortened the cables, twisted them to reduce noise, but I'm still unable to raise the BR (unable as in i will not be able to transmit/receive on the other end).
I've tried to use a digital oscilloscope on the TX for the rising pulse to determine the actual BR but i'm always getting the similar time for a pulse despite increasing the BR on the comport.

Anyone is able to advise me on what should i try to do?
Positive advice is always welcomed:)
thanks guys!
By phalanx
It almost sounds like you are trying to connect the serial ports of 2 computers, a motherboard, and your power supply all to the same lines (like a bus) which isn't something you can readily do with RS232. RS485 was designed to for this but RS232 is intended for point-to-point connections. Can you better clarify what it is you are trying to do?