SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By Plasmacubed
Hello,

I am a student and after discovering the world of analog synthesizers, I have decided to build a sequencer. I have several question and concerns as I think the rough idea is possible, but I don’t know many of the details.

Disclaimer: I have read through several Arduino forum posts, outdated Digi Key articles, and went so far as to order shift registers after following Sparkfun and Arduino basic tutorials and I am unsatisfied with my attempt outlook. I am trying to build a complete device eventually making custom PCBs and a nice aluminum faceplate for. I am here because I haven’t found concrete info on how best to build what I describe below, only basic 8 or 16 step examples. Please ask me to clarify anything you need, I really want to make this project happen.

My idea for the sequencer is to start with an array of 16 steps. Each step has a potentiometer that will sweep probably within one octave to select the note that plays for that step. The tricky part is that each step will have a total of 16 sub-steps. Each sub-step is a 4-position switch where each position causes a different note action when the sequencer reaches that sub step. This results in a sequencer that can play 16 different notes, up to 16 times for each note.

I originally planned to use an Arduino mega as the basis for this project as I have minor experience with it, using multiplexers and shift registers to take in that much data. I have made 2 schematics of this section a simplified schematic of one array with 4 switches representing 4 sub steps, and a larger version with 4 arrays of 16 switches each representing steps with each of the planned 16 sub-steps. Please find it in the Dropbox below.