SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By daleevr
I'm trying to build a little black box so to speak that will sense an impact and send a email or text message when the impact occurs over wifi and/or cellular. wifi is preferred and cellular as a last choice but both available if possible. I'm new to this so I kinda don't know where to start much less code. Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Dale
By skimask
How would an impact occur over wifi, much less cellular?
By daleevr
This is the scenario. Once constructed the box would sit in a vehicle. If the vehicle had a impact with something the box would sense the impact. Once the impact was felt the board would send an email or text. The email or text is sent over wifi or cellular! Thanks for your reply.
By lyndon
Beaglebone black, accelerometer, and a wifi dongle/cellular modem. Done!

Oh, yeah, and a crapton of signal processing software. Now done!
By notexactly
I think a BBB may be a bit overkill for this. Any suitable microcontroller + accelerometer + ESP8266 + any cellular board (e.g. SparkFun Cellular Shield, Adafruit Fona, Konekt Dash) should do, right? Also, the Dash (and probably the ESP8266 too) has enough processing power to not require any other microcontroller.
By lyndon
Overkill is in the eye of the beholder. With a BBB I could have this working in about 15 minutes. I have limited free time and that is valuable to me. How long will it take to put together all those other bits & pieces you list off?
By daleevr
Thanks for all of the replys! Is there anywhere that offers a service to put the code together for something like this and tell me the hardware needed for the code they wrote? Paid or not! I think with all the comments that the hardware will be no problem for me but the code is a differant story!

Thanks!
By jremington