SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By justincoty327
I am using the ITG-3200 Sparkfun Gyro and am wanting to obtain the rotation of the wheel. I plan on placing the gyro in the center of the rim, and obtaining the z-axis reading. However, I am not sure how to do this exactly, or if this is the best way to do so. It is going to be placed on a racing quad so the rpm's will be rather high. I am then going to use the rpm's to calculate the wheel horsepower and torque and log it to an sd card. I am just not sure how to go about reading the z-axis and converting that reading into actual rpm's. Can someone please help me with some basic code. I am new to electronics, but not programming. I know several programming languages, HTML/CSS, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET, C++, C#. I know logically what to do, I just don't know a lot about sensors. Thank you all in advance for the help.
By justincoty327
Well I just realized that I misread the formula for torque and hp. Seems you must know the rpm and either the torque or hp to calculate the other. So now I am stuck trying to figure out how to either determine the torque or hp.
By Ross Robotics
I assuming this is for a school project and you have to use a gyro??
By justincoty327
Nope, its for my own entertainment. I have no actual dynos that I can go to around here, and I race and tune drag atv's. Which is hard to do without numbers. So I am trying to find a way to create a portable dyno.
By Ross Robotics
Then why are you so determined to use a gyro? There are simpler ways to get the end result.
By skimask
Or put a hall effect sensor on a driveshaft...or multiple hall effect sensors on a driveshaft

RPM = measure time between pulses on the hall effect sensor. 1 hall effect sensor = 1 pulse per second = 60 RPM, 2 pulses per second = 120 RPM...and so on...

Or use a gyro...