SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By AlaDan00
I'm very new to this level of the electronics world. I am building a door that will raise and lower on a chicken coop. The original door I designed was 9.62 lbs. I can change some things out to get it down to 7.6 lbs. A friend said I should use a stepper motor to keep from having to use limit switches. So, here is my problem. Since the motor and control unit will be located on the exterior of the coop, I will be going from the top of the door, up 2-foot to a pulley and turning horizontal approximately 1'-6" through the exterior of the coop.

So here is what I need help with; what size stepper motor (12V system run off a solar panel and 12A/h lead acid battery) do I need to lift this weight?

Also, I'm looking for something to use as a winch drum (spool) and have only found one plastic part?
Last edited by AlaDan00 on Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By oldtemecula
There are a lot of creative minds around here so I will start with the outdoors motor I "might" use.

http://www.amazon.com/OneGrill-Cordless ... +bbq+motor

Two limit switches are less parts than setting up an outdoor stepper motor, I think............

Using a spit/rod allows for several options to pull the door evenly.

When does the door open or close, is this an automatic function when a chicken stands near it?

I always say Eat Mor Chicken. :lol:

Many posts are one time and the OP vanishes, this stuff ain't that scary is it?

Christopher
By AlaDan00
My plan is to seal in all in a housing like this:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Carlon-6-in- ... hnZ1z116nv