SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By Pseudomizer
Hello guys,

I have tried all commercial solutions out there but the longest one supporting up to 450 feet distance didn't work as there are 2 houses in the line of sight and the mailbox itself being metal, made it fail.

Due to this I am not considering other options. Given that I am new to this here I would like to get your feedback on hardware and implementation. So here we go and again, this is coming from a newbie so I might be completely wrong.

Distance between House and Mailbox is about 300 feet with 2 houses in the line of sight hence me going for the Xbee Pro 900 not taking any chances for distance but also by going with 900 instead of 2.4GHz the penetration of the mailbox and the houses in the line of sight should be easier from what I researched online.
Mailbox is a metal multi-mailbox for multiple houses owned by the HOA and I am not allowed to drill holes into that mailbox.

Hardware ideas:
2 x Arduino UNOs Rev 3
2 x Xbee Pro 900
2 x Xbee Shields
1 x USB to Xbee board
1 x Tilt sensor
1 x 9-Volt Battery
1 x contact sensor

My idea is to build one box with a tilt sensor which will sit in the mailbox. I want to use the contact sensor to power on the Arduino when the mailbox is opened to save energy assuming that there is enough time for the arduino to power on, send a signal before the mailman closes the mailbox again.

Another idea would be to use this contact sensor to not only power on the Arduino but also to notify the primary Arduino but I don't know if this is even possible.

On the target side I want to connect the Arduino somehow to my network and notify my Vera 3 from my home automation system about new mail having arrived.