SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By nicte83
Hi,

I have zero experience, but am not adverse to learning. I work in a laboratory. One of our tests uses a vacuum pump for either 1 minute or two minutes. Right now it is plugged into a power strip that I switch on and off.. which means I have to babysit it which digs into my efficiency quite a bit.

I want to create something that functions like the belkin conserve socket (http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Conserve-S ... B003P2UMS0) - only with 1 & 2 minutes, versus the times they have.

I have been browsing around, and maybe picaxe? maybe something with the powerswitch tail II?

I really don't know what I need to get started. Please give me some advice as to how you think I should approach this project?
By lyndon
Building a timer with two fixed times is pretty easy, but it depends on your background. Can you program? How accurate does the timer need to be?

The solution may be either a simple Arduino-type control (accurate, but requires programming skills) or building from a schematic on the web (not as accurate, but no programming needed).

Here Is a simple demo I made that switches a solenoid valve on for a preset time. Probably took about 5 minutes of programming with an off the shelf board.

OTOH, what's wrong with off the shelf timers? They are pretty cheap.
By nicte83
If you could find me an off the shelf timer that shuts off the power at one and two minutes you would be my hero, I have looked all the places I know to go and come up empty..

It needs to be fairly accurate. Going over by a few seconds is not a problem, but under would be. It must be consistently repeatable.

I have never programmed like this, I can use xhtml/css, manipulate javascript and do some php. I don't mind learning a new thing.
By Mee_n_Mac