SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By Jcm1965
I am totally new to this and have very little if any electronic background, so please be gentle :) Here is what I am attempting to do: I have 4 magnetic reed switches, each independent of the other. I am using a Series 1 XBee (actually I have multiple if needed). There will be one "receiving" XBee (or at least that is my hope). The idea is that when one of the reed switches is deactivated (magnet removed) a corresponding LED on the receiver will illuminate. It could be done really either way, either all 4 LEDs are on and the deactivated switch LED turns off, or on, as long as all act in the same manner. Now it seems as though I should be able to wire a reed switch to I/O 0, 1, 2, and 3 and respectively a LED to 0, 1, 2, and 3 and have this work. But it doesn't seem to be working. Is there code I need to write to make all of these work? If so can someone help me with that? I had been told by one person that I needed 4 sending XBees and on "receiving", is that what I need? As an additional note, it needs to be so that one or multiple reed switches can be deactivated and turn on one or more of the LEDs at the same time. So if lets say reed switch A's magnet it removed, LED A turns on (or off), and then if B's magnet is removed, LED B turns on (or off), likewise with C and D. I followed the sparkfun tutorial for the "doorbell" and it worked for one, though the LED turned on when the reed switch was deactivated which seemed backwards, but as mentioned, as long as they all work the same way I don't really care as long as I have 4 indicators that work alike off of one receiving XBee. I was using CoolTerm as a writing program. Thanks in advance for any help you can give...fighting a time crunch on this project.
By Jcm1965