SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By kommi10
If one LilyPad Micro LED takes 20mA of current, but one petal outputs 40mA, then how does Leah Buechley manage to string 7 LEDs onto one petal in her tutorial?

Hi all, newbie here trying to figure out how many LEDs I can run off a lilyPad petal for a small project.

According to her design, you can string 7 LEDs onto one petal: http://www.flickr.com/photos/leahbuechley/2596552004

But according to the specs on of the LilyPad Main Board the DC current per I/O Pin is only 40 mA
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/arduinoBoardLilyPad

Asuming that each LED will consume around 20mA of current, how is it possible to string 7 of them together onto one petal?

Unless each LED is eating way less than the 20mA's?

Also, not sure how I would use Ohm's Law to calculate anything here. I know the current (I) as 40mA, and I know the resistance of the thread as 28 ohms per foot (lets say 2 feet are used, so 56 ohms). So I can use Ohm's Law to calc the volatge needed as 2.24 volts. But not sure how that helps me? I plan on using a 3V 250mAh coincell battery to power the lilyPad itself.
By trueRF
There are lots of ways to subvert the 40mA output restriction. One such way to to string the LEDs in series. Such that each led shares the same current. but you would need a high voltage on the output. For a 12V system you can use 5 leds in series without much trouble.