SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By CountVlad
Hi,
I'm very new to the arduino world so please bear with me. I've recently purchased an Arduino Mega 2560, LS20031 GPS, 9DOF Stick and an OpenLog SD card in order to record an RC plane flight. Unfortunately I'm unable to get the OpenLog card to record/store any files.

I've wired the chip according to the instructions where I've only used the RX on the board to connect to Pin 53 on the Mega board. Since I'm not looking to access files on the card I figured I wouldnt need to wire the TX pin.

I've tried numerous codes that I've found online but with no success. However, every single one of them had code written in such way that it would initialize the card then either write or open a file. Since there isnt an arduino TX pin to the OpenLog I'm not really sure if I have to wire it or not.

Could someone please provide me with a simple code to check or write on the sd card?

Thank you
By CountVlad
According to everything that I've read pin 53 is the SS pin on the Mega board.

If there are other suggestions on which way to wire would be greatly appreciated.
By Mee_n_Mac
Why use the SS pin ? For any device you want the serial out (Tx) of the device to be connected to the serial in (Rx) of the logger. From the Arduino product page:
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardMega2560
Serial: 0 (RX) and 1 (TX); Serial 1: 19 (RX) and 18 (TX); Serial 2: 17 (RX) and 16 (TX); Serial 3: 15 (RX) and 14 (TX). Used to receive (RX) and transmit (TX) TTL serial data. Pins 0 and 1 are also connected to the corresponding pins of the ATmega16U2 USB-to-TTL Serial chip.

So skip using the serial port shared w/the USB connection and use Serial1, 2 or 3 (and code appropriately). That would be pins 18, 16 or 14 repectively.

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Serial