SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
I'd like to connect two RingCoder breakout boards (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11040) to a single ATMega328, but I'm a little bit confused about how to connect them both together.

I'm new to shift registers in general, but it seems that the RingCoder is not set up to allow for daisy chaining multiple modules on the same SPI bus. Or am I wrong about that?

I could use some pointers about which pins are common between the boards, and which must be separate. For example, I'm thinking that I need to connect both boards' GND, DAT, CLR, CLK, LATCH and VCC pins together (don't care about colors or switch right now), then bring the EN lines to two different pins of my ATMega328 so I can switch between the two boards. Is this correct?
Look at the BoB's schematic. Notice the two shift register chips and how they are daisy chained (pin 9 to pin 14).
You could do this to the second BoB by soldering a wire onto IC2's pin 9 then connecting this wire to the DAT (IC1's pin 14 on the second BoB. The other pins on IC1 & IC2 all connect together on both BoBs.
Your code would then need to shift out 32 bits instead of 16 bits.
And you will need separate sets of inputs for the two encoders.
By Mee_n_Mac
H4T wrote:That handles the daisy chaining, but what about the wiring? Did I get it right about which lines to make common, and which to keep separate?