SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By RonBeyer
I'm creating a pretty interesting project, part of it is to be able to measure altitude from 50' down to about 1' at an accuracy of 1'.

The sensor is going to be mounted to an airplane, as the plane comes in for landing I want to get an altitude call-out, something like:

50', 40', 30', 20', 15', 10', 9', 8', 7', 6', 5', 4', 3', 2', 1'...

Its not for an R/C plane, I'm a pilot and working on a number of sensors (including airspeed, altitude, etc), the problem with using a barometric altitude sensor for this is that small changes in pressure can cause a 5-10' error. Right now the altitude sensor calibrates when the sensor pack is turned on to 0' AGL, but a couple hours of flying or flying to a different location can throw that off.

So I was wondering if there was a sensor out there that can be used like that. The laser sensors don't seem to be a good fit, and ultrasonics seem to only go to about 25'.
By Mee_n_Mac
Why not laser (other than weather) ? Otherwise it's radar ... perhaps some offshoot of the cruise control / accident avoidance units used in cars.
By RonBeyer
Any links to laser? This is mostly for VFR, which means good weather (sunny days), and the beam would have to reflect off of non-reflective surfaces such as grass and tarmac, so if you have any links to lasers that fall into that category please let me know.

Thanks!
By stevech
RonBeyer wrote:I'm creating a pretty interesting project, part of it is to be able to measure altitude from 50' down to about 1' at an accuracy of 1'.

The sensor is going to be mounted to an airplane, as the plane comes in for landing I want to get an altitude call-out, something like:

50', 40', 30', 20', 15', 10', 9', 8', 7', 6', 5', 4', 3', 2', 1'...