SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By mark_anderson_us
Hi All

I'm pretty new to electronics. I'm building a circuit where I need to sense a DC signal between 9 and 24v DC and an output to a microcontroller. I want to use a PS2501-4 (http://www.cel.com/pdf/datasheets/ps2501.pdf), but I'm kind of stuck on figuring out the range of input voltages it supports and what I should use to ensure this range of voltages will trigger it.

I looked at the data sheet, but can't for the life of me figure out what the max input voltage is.

In addition to this, I then need to figure out how to generate enough forward (for the 9-24v input) to trigger the device. I'd like to keep the no of components to a minimum due to size limitations.

Any help/explanations would be appreciated

Thanks

Mark
By mark_anderson_us
Unfortunately, I don't understand that, I took that to meant that the forward voltage drop across the component is 1.7v, so if I have 10v at anode, i'll have 8.3v at cathode.
By waltr
The diode is an LED. So use the same calculations for the resistor (series current limiter) to light an LED.
It is the LED current that you set.
A 9 to 24V input range is quite large. What exactly do you need this opto to do?
Have a logic low when the input is about 9V and a logic high when the input is about 24V?
By mark_anderson_us
waltr wrote:The diode is an LED. So use the same calculations for the resistor (series current limiter) to light an LED.
It is the LED current that you set.
A 9 to 24V input range is quite large. What exactly do you need this opto to do?
Have a logic low when the input is about 9V and a logic high when the input is about 24V?
Thanks Waltr