SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By qwertymodo
I'm wanting to build myself a car charger for my Galaxy Nexus spare battery using the MCP73833 charger IC. I have a couple of questions, since I've never built a battery charger before, and the whole potential for catching fire or exploding thing has me rather cautious in proceeding. First of all, I want to run the charger at or near its 1A max charge rate, so I'm using a 1.5A regulator in order to ensure that the charger can get enough current. Also, the 12V DC jack has a 2A quick-blow fuse in it. Should I replace the fuse with a 1.5A equivalent, or will the existing one be fine? Also, reading through the MCP73833 datasheet, it says the voltage regulation can be set to 4.2V, 4.35V, 4.4V, or 4.5V, but the battery is 3.7V (specifically, it's this battery), how should I select the output voltage (it's factory set, so I have to order the correct part number for the voltage I choose)? Here's the datasheet for the chip. I've attached my schematic, pretty much just pulled straight from the reference design, with a regulator added on the input to handle the 12V-to-5V conversion (since the MCP73833 only supports up to 6V input), so could anybody with experience working with Li-Ion charging take a look at it and offer feedback? Battery charging is one of those things I've wanted to tackle for awhile now, and with fully integrated chips like the MCP73833, it seems to be simple enough, I just want to make sure to get it right the first time so I don't have any... energetic disassembly.

Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
By qwertymodo