SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

General project discussion / help
Did you make a robotic coffee pot which implements HTCPCP and decafs unauthorized users? Show it off here!
By natural
Hello all,
Newbie here. Pretty new to electronics. I am working on a sculpture project, decided I would like portions of it to illuminate in a variety of colors.

After some brief research, I ended up purchasing some of these guys:
http://www.vozop.com/index.php/ws2801-d ... -leds.html
and one of these:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPI-RGB-LED-Con ... 25715d9503

My problem is, I can't get this setup to work. Generally what happens: plug in controller (led module already attached), module will illuminate a dim blue on all 6 led's, controller will flash through all IC's shown on the front (flashing red light behind the writing on control box), then usually all 6 led's will go full white for half a second, then completely off. Controller generally settles on one of the IC's listed (red light behind the writing on control box). Clicking through modes, IC's, speed on the controller changes nothing on the led module (still off).

Occasionally, after disconnecting and reconnecting power, I'll get the usual dim blue, followed by continuous full white until I change anything on controller, at which time led module turns off, and won't come back on again. ONCE, after disconnecting and reconnecting power, the module did it's normal dim blue, white flash, then started controlled fading through colors starting with red (I believe as it's supposed to). This only lasted for about 3 seconds, followed by turning off.