New to forum need help with a projest

Find out how to setup your programmer's software and how to solve many common problems.

Moderator: phalanx

ronb28

New to forum need help with a projest

Post by ronb28 » Wed May 03, 2017 1:36 am

Hello have a project i would like to under take but need some help with the picaxe which i am new to so please be kind.
When young i use to stay with my auntie who had a wind up clock which chimed on the hour for the hour (eg 4 times for 4 o clock)
would like to reproduce the chimes using a picaxe (the tick tock would be the next project) on a 12 hour cycle and would like to
ask some questions if i could ? I see that connecting the chip to a PC is very straight forward with few parts required
I would also add that iam only really need the chime and would not look or use a visual display

What picaxe chip would be best for this job ? is a picaxe the right thing for the job ????
Do the chips have an on board clock ?
If yes how accurate is it ? (a reset every month is ok by me)
Would like to run a small solenoid for the chime any suggestions ?
How long would the pin need to go high to run the solenoid circuit ?
Other than the 5 volt regulated power what else is required to run the circuit

Managed to get a copy of the picaxe editor and getting my head around the Basic programing format ok
I would like some assistance (not done for me ) but wish to learn more about picaxe and progress on to
bigger and better projects
Thanks for your time
Ron ronb28@hotmail.com

phalanx
Non-SFE Guru

Re: New to forum need help with a projest

Post by phalanx » Wed May 03, 2017 8:56 am

Hi Ron,

Everything you want to do is readily accomplished with even the most basic PICAXE (08M2) and a real time clock like the DS1307. There are a lot of examples of similar clock projects using the PICAXE that would only require a little modification for your purposes. One such example can be found here: https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/projec ... -a-picaxe/