PIC16f876a

Find out how to setup your programmer's software and how to solve many common problems.

Moderator: phalanx

Post Reply
Rajesh09
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:04 am

PIC16f876a

Post by Rajesh09 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:24 am

Hi,
I have a development board, it contains pic16f876a as a controller part, i try to test the internal loop back test using the spi interface in this controller how i will do it?

Please help me out.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Rajesh Rajendiran.

User avatar
phalanx
Non-SFE Guru
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 8:57 am
Location: Candia, NH

Re: PIC16f876a

Post by phalanx » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:29 am

Rajesh,

To the best of my knowledge (and through a quick perusal of the datasheet), there is no internal loop back functionality on any of the various serial ports in this particular PIC.

-Bill

Rajesh09
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:04 am

Re: PIC16f876a

Post by Rajesh09 » Fri Sep 09, 2016 9:12 am

Hi,
Thanks Bill and i need to know in my development board it having 5 layer board but no pins outside of my board for pic how i will test the program i can make for it. whether my program is correctly compiled and dumb in the flash

Rajesh09
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:04 am

Regarding PIC16f876a

Post by Rajesh09 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:16 am

Hi,
I am using a analog processing chip which is 'anadigm fpaa' i want to configure its configuration through my pic in this pic one bootloader is already loaded. I want to program now in my pic to configure fpaa.

How i would start to program this pic and can i get any reference so that i would follow to program.

Is this bootloader needed to change everytime?

User avatar
phalanx
Non-SFE Guru
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 8:57 am
Location: Candia, NH

Re: PIC16f876a

Post by phalanx » Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:49 pm

How about you post the details of your development board (schematic, manual, picture, anything). It would be a lot easier to help you if I knew what you were working with.

-Bill

Rajesh09
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:04 am

Re: Regarding PIC16f876a

Post by Rajesh09 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 9:47 pm

Hi,
As you asked what i was actually working i attached the schematic of the board i used.

In that schematic you can get the details of the circuit and i need to know how to approach programming pic so that it configures my fpaa to act as some analog fuctionality.

Thanks in advance
-Rajesh
Attachments
Schematic.pdf
Schematic of the board i used
(83.41 KiB) Downloaded 97 times

User avatar
phalanx
Non-SFE Guru
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 8:57 am
Location: Candia, NH

Re: PIC16f876a

Post by phalanx » Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:12 am

Have you read the entire manual for the development board that you extracted that schematic from? It took some digging on my end but I found it: http://www.anadigm.com/_doc/UM231000-K001A.pdf . You could have just posted that and saved me a bunch of time.

Like the manual says, have you tried using their AnadigmDesigner 2 software? That's what you should be using to load firmware onto the board.

Unless you have some reason to put a custom firmware on the PIC, there shouldn't be any reason why you are trying to directly change the PIC's firmware without going through AnadigmDesigner 2.

-Bill

Rajesh09
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:04 am

Re: PIC16f876a

Post by Rajesh09 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 2:43 am

Yes, i go through it here i have attached one new document you can go through this i am using dynamic reconfiguration so that i want to send some configuration data during on the fly.

I want to change the circuit parameters on the fly, so that i need this help.

In the given document can you please refer the section 2.1 and 5 you can get some idea.

Thanks for your interest.
Attachments
dpASP_UserManual_UM000231-U001.pdf
Dynamic Programing
(293.94 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

User avatar
phalanx
Non-SFE Guru
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 8:57 am
Location: Candia, NH

Re: PIC16f876a

Post by phalanx » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:58 am

They don't recommend using the onboard PIC for custom purposes because you will lose their bootloader which allows the board to connect directly to their AnadigmDesigner software. Instead they suggest you use your own project board to interface through the SPI port which is broken out as "P9" on your development board.

If you do use the onboard PIC, you can use a PICkit-3 on header "P6" to directly program it. You will have to write your own code in MPLAB either in assembly or using the XC8 compiler. AnadigmDesigner apparently generates C code that will help in configuring the FPAA. It will be up to you to figure out what the configuration need to be for your application.

-Bill

Post Reply