PA control, protection and monitoring using 16c57+/16f84

Find out how to setup your programmer's software and how to solve many common problems.

Moderator: phalanx

brlmat

PA control, protection and monitoring using 16c57+/16f84

Post by brlmat » Wed May 14, 2014 11:53 am

Hello everybody!

First of all, I want to warn you that I am a complete beginner in writing code for pic. I am currently studying a book on writing code in c.

I have two pics laying around: PIC16C57 and PIC16F84A and I want to use them in a power amplifier controlling, protection and monitoring kit. The whole kit will show it's and the poweramp's status on a 7" LCD screen (accepts both PAL/NTSC).

What I want to achieve with this:

1. Softstart. Basically coupling relay_1 1 second after AC sense. (one digital out pin normally low. high after the 1 second)

2. Power-on mute. Relay_2_left and relay_2_right couple 5 seconds after AC sense. (two digital out pins normally low. high after the 5 seconds)

3. DC Protection. If DC_sense_pin_left/right goes high then relay_2_left/right decouples and display shows DC ON LEFT OUT! or DC ON RIGHT OUT!. (two digital in pins)

4. Current monitoring and overcurrent protection. 0-15 amps mean 0-5v on I_sense_pin_left/right. This reading is peak current. If over 10 amps for more than 0.3s then relay_2_left/right decouples and shows OVERCURRENT! on display. Also, the instantaneous value will always be shown like Current left:5.03A Current right:4.87A. (two analog in pins)