SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

For the discussion of Sparkfun events such as Free Day, Antimov, AVC, etc.
By S.A.B.
I'm one of the lucky winners of Free Day 2012, and I just got my order delivered yesterday. I'm new to this, so I chose the good old inventor's kit with retail case, and, for reasons I'll explain below, I came to ask myself: how does shipment work? Can someone explain, in simple terms, what happens to my package since it leaves the Sparkfun's headquarters, step by step, until it gets delivered to me? I live in Italy, but if you know the shipment process for your own country that's fine too.

Now, as for the reasons: since I live overseas, shipment costs are a little higher for me than they are for United States customers, the cheapest option is still 42 euro ($55.50), but that didn't trouble me in the least, since I was getting something worth twice as much. I don't have a bank account, so I had to get a PayPal card and account, loaded some money on it and, when came the time to pay, I found out it became 56 euro ($74). Still retaining my optimism, I paid and waited. Yesterday, when I came back home from my job and found the package, I felt like a little kid on Christmas day, and I'm twenty years old! I was so happy, I almost didn't hear my father (who had received the package in my stead) say that he had to pay 31 euro more to the deliverer.

My thought process went like this: 56 euro ($74) + 31 euro ($41) = 87 euro ($115) > 74 euro ($100). Shipment costs > free day credit. What. The. Hell.