Page 1 of 1

Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:52 am
by jelanier
Has anyone tried to use ICE in the Arduino IDE?

The ICE does NOT show up as a comm port, but the ICE IS in the programmer list as if it is supported.
What am I missing?

I am just trying to burn a bootloader into a SAMD21.

Thanks,

Jim

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 11:13 am
by lyndon
jelanier wrote:Has anyone tried to use ICE in the Arduino IDE?

The ICE does NOT show up as a comm port, but the ICE IS in the programmer list as if it is supported.
What am I missing?

I am just trying to burn a bootloader into a SAMD21.

Thanks,

Jim
I think I've used it and you have to Upload using programmer" but it was a while back so I'm not sure. I think I had to manually update the Arduino setup file to get it to work. However, why don't you just use the Atmel Studio software with the ICE? It's much simpler that way.

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 4:19 pm
by jelanier
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I know how to do that in Atmel Studio. I just wanted to include it in the arduino ide (since it is in the programmer list)

Jim

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 4:41 pm
by lyndon
Here's my config in programmers.txt:

## JTAGICE MK II
jtag2isp.name=JTAGICE MkII ISP
jtag2isp.communication=usb
jtag2isp.protocol=jtag2isp
jtag2isp.program.tool=avrdude
jtag2isp.program.protocol=stk500v2
jtag2isp.speed=115200
jtag2isp.program.extra_params=-Pusb

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:59 am
by jelanier
Thanks. My file looks like this:

atmel_ice.name=Atmel-ICE
atmel_ice.communication=USB
atmel_ice.protocol=
atmel_ice.program.protocol=
atmel_ice.program.tool=openocd
atmel_ice.program.extra_params=

sam_ice.name=Atmel SAM-ICE
sam_ice.communication=USB
sam_ice.protocol=
sam_ice.program.protocol=
sam_ice.program.tool=openocd
sam_ice.program.extra_params=

I also found it at github:

https://github.com/arduino/ArduinoCore- ... ammers.txt

I'm not sure what it takes to make it work. It works fine in Atmel Studio, so I know the device drivers are OK.

Jim

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:34 am
by lyndon
Do you have openocd installed?

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:07 am
by jelanier
yes

Re: Atmel ICE in Arduino IDE

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:16 am
by jelanier
Openocd is installed when you add SAMD boards from board manager in the Arduino IDE.

It places it in:
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\arduino\tools\openocd

I don't know why it doesn't work

Jim