SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

For the discussion of Arduino related topics.
By Skriptkid
Hey,
I'm a complete newbie to Helis and the electronics related to it, and am trying to build a quadrocopter(first one.) I want it's motors(brushless) to be Arduino Uno-controlled and have three doubts related to this:

1. I have no idea about how to connect an ESC to it. I've read that it can be connected to one of the digital PWM pins and controlled using the Servo library, but, if this is done, wouldn't it, although it'll have a separate power source, draw current from the board and burn it, since the board provides only about 20mA?

2. Are all ESCs programmable from an Arduino, or are only some microcontroller-programmable?

3. (This might be stupid - ) I've checked out some ESCs on websites, but haven't seen their max voltage written anywhere. So do the ESCs also have a voltage limit or can the voltage supplied be the same as that for the motor?

I'd be really glad if anybody could answer these.
Thank you.
By fll-freak
ESC designed for RC control (model cars and planes) use a pulse width modulation scheme for control. Connecting the ESC to an Arduino is as simple as using the servo library. The ESC does not draw its power for the motor from the PWM control lines. There are separate leads for the motor, the battery, and the PWM control.

You will get two flavors of RC ESCs. The type to drive brushless motors and those to control brushed motors. In each category you will also find maximum voltage/current specifications. Some ESCs will not spec the voltage/current but rather tell you want type of batteries and motors they can handle. Something like a N-cell NiCad with a N-turn brushed motor. This equates back to voltage and current with the appropriate knowledge of how many volts a single cell produces and how much current various motors consume.