SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

For the discussion of Arduino related topics.
By fxmodels
Hi...
I saw that to use the ArduPilotMega and IMU Shield [and GPS etc...] successfully with a quadcopter setup, you need this Power Distribution Board setup yet I cannot find it anywhere. It is not available. Is this still needed or was this eliminated in a revision to the boards?
Thanks ... trying to sort this all out..
Marc
By fxmodels
esklar81 wrote:Marc,

1) What, precisely, is "this Power Distribution Board setup"?

2) I encourage you to read this guidance before you respond.

Eric
Hi Eric,
Thanks for responding... Not sure why you suggested I read the "how to ask a question the smart way..." Was I asking a question in a non-smart way? I dont get that. I have been asking questions for as many years as the internet has been public and few years while it was still private.. ha ha. But aside from that, thank you very much for taking the time to reply.

This PDB thing is something the Arducopter folks say was needed since I want to be driving a quadcopter and not a standard aircraft. I guess another way to ask this question quite deceptively simply is if the standard Mega and IMU can fly a quad in stabilized flight without any additional circuitry...

Also, to add... I have searched far and wide to find the precise answer to this question and so far there is nothing I found that tells me if I need to distribute power differently for the quad... As simple as it sounds, the answer is elusive.

Thanks,
Marc
By esklar81
Marc,
  1. As odd as it may seem to you, I pointed you to that guidance because it appears that you would benefit from it, specifically: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-que ... #beprecise.
  2. How about starting your quest for help here by providing a link to whatever it is you understood to say a "Power Distribution Board" is necessary for quadcopters but not "a standard aircraft"?