SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

For the discussion of Arduino related topics.
By skimask
Thinking about switching camps...from PICs (PicBasicPro, assembly, etc) to the Arduino world, specifically the MEGA 2560 and the board sold here at Sparkfun, mainly because it has 4 serial ports.

I downloaded the IDE. Looks neat compared to what I'm used to. Relatively simple, compact-ish, and best of all, it's all in one spot vs. having to jump back and forth between various windows to edit/compile/burn.

Was wondering about the compiled/assembled code as compared to what I'm used to, which is the PIC's code.
Like I've said elsewhere, I'm used to the PIC18xxxx lines of MCU's. I've been using PicBasicPro for about 10+ years now, PBP when I need simple, straight assembly if I need fast/tight/efficient code.
Is the compiled Arduino code 'tight' (for lack of a better phrase)?

I guess I'm really asking if it's kinda like the old Visual Basic 4.0...a semi- tokenized, semi- interpreted 'on-the-fly', or if it's actual machine code that can really haul the mail if it's done right.

Could a person write code that would handle 4 simultaneous continuous 115,200 bps streams coming and go out of each serial port and still have cycles left over to process that data in various ways and still bit-bang a couple of SPI pins for an LCD output or EEPROM access? Or would that be just asking too much for the code/speed of the device...
JDG
By skimask
BTW - I hate C. Always have. Don't know why, I just do. Didn't like old ANSI-C in high school back in the 80's, don't like it now...or do I?
Switching camps to the Arduino just might change my way of thinking... Ya know, I just pull myself into the 2000's or something.
JDG
By follower
skimask wrote:I guess I'm really asking if it's kinda like the old Visual Basic 4.0...a semi- tokenized, semi- interpreted 'on-the-fly', or if it's actual machine code that can really haul the mail if it's done right.