SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By houta69
Hello All -

I'm designing my first PCB (2 layer) based off of this schematic. http://home.comcast.net/~houta69/M1-R.bmp

My background is in software and my hardware skills leave a lot to be desired. One thing that I'm very confussed about is the proper grounding to use on the board. I've seen where the ground rail is provided with a big fat trace running around the perimeter of the board, others recommend providing a ground plane. I've seen recomendations for seperate ground planes that tie back together at the supply if RF or mixed analog and digital circuits are used. I've also read arguments for using a single ground plane for the entire board regardless of the circuitry involved.

I was hoping that someone might shed a little additional light on this topic for me. Are there general rules of thumb for which techniques should be used in a given situation or is every situation completely unique?

This is also my first CAD schematic diagram, so any critiquing of that is welcomed too.

Thanks much
By leon_heller
I'd just use fat supply tracks, if it's a prototype for your own use. If it is something that is going into production, you might need to use copper pour and take other measures to avoid EMC problems. The term 'ground-plane' is usually reserved for multi-layer boards.

Spend some time getting the components placed optimally. Route critical nets like the supply and ground, and oscillator, first.

Leon
By NleahciM
Why do you have your LM1117 taking as its input voltage the output of the 7805? Such a setup can lead to badness like weird oscillations. With your board - I don't see any need for that setup.