SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By propellanttech
EDIT: I changed the name of the thread. Since this is an absolute now...and not a possibility.

If your interested, watch for threads with LB SMT in the title. /EDIT

I'm a new business owner (actually started it myself last year).

I'm looking to possibly offer surface part placement.

I'm wondering who would be interested.

I'm not sure of the rates.....but the way I'm looking at doing it is as follows:

There will be a setup fee for a new board design. (thinking about 10-15 bucks)

Placement fees will be according to pads. (certain price for each pad)

If the design changes (minor change....moved part, added part, removed part) there will be a small design change fee (this is based on previous orders)

I'm looking at people that will have small volume runs. 5-100 boards per run.

The problem.....it would be impossible to totally test the assembled board. Also....the parts would have to be supplied.

Let me know your ideas and opinions,

James L
Last edited by propellanttech on Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
By jasonharper
I can imagine using this service, depending on what the "certain price for each pad" turns out to be...

Will customers be required to provide a solder paste stencil?

What's the finest pitch/smallest package size you'll deal with? I suspect you may eventually want to have this be a factor in the price - placing a 1206 is not the same thing as placing a 01005...

What sort of guarantee will you offer (for example, if you accidentally place an expensive BGA upside-down, and the customer doesn't have the equipment to rework it themselves)?
By propellanttech
Jason,

No stencil needed.

I'm looking at 0402 as the smallest. I may go as low as 0201. I know it will not be smaller than 0201.